RSS

I am Proud to be a Shellfish Eating HEATHEN!!

25 Feb

I do not celebrate Valentine’s Day on the 14th February because to do so, you will have to spend double/triple the usual rate for a meal, drink etc just for the pleasure for going out on the 14th February.  In this day and age, I do not think it is worth it.  In addition, I was in hospital on 14th February so there was no option other than to celebrate it on another date anyways!  So I decided to celebrate it that weekend when I knew I would be discharged by then.

Now I (SHOCK HORROR) love love love shellfish!  And I know everyone out there is now going to call me a heathen but I do not care.  Shellfish in my opinion is one of the most beautiful dishes that can be created and so in the spirit of Valentine’s Day and being an inherent heathen, I decided to go with red lobster.  I wanted to show off and be a little “ooh la la!”  For those that do not understand, according to the bible if I was to eat shellfish (amongst other evil foods) then I would be considered a heathen:

Leviticus 11:10, “But whatever is in the seas and in the rivers that does not have fins and scales among all the teeming life of the water, and among all the living creatures that are in the water, they are detestable things to you.”

Whenever I think of lobsters I always think of the Family Guy scene below:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=es-EIpBbTd8

Anyways, enough with that tangent, I bought the lobster, I boiled the lobster and I tried to eat the lobster and FAILED!  I thought I would have liked lobster seeing that I am miss piggy when it comes to fish and there is this elevated sense of achievement when eating lobster.  My partner, well, he could not eat the lobster either.  We are lobster hating people!!!!  So in our anti-lobster mood, I ordered pizza instead!

Valentines Day 2012 Lesson – do NOT make something that is unfamiliar to you, stick to what you know works.  For us that’s a nice “healthy” take out!  Which by the way tonight, I am having a nice chinese take out, I am looking forward to some duck!  I wonder, if I eat duck, just like lobster, am I still a heathen?!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 25, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I am Proud to be a Shellfish Eating HEATHEN!!

  1. lamehousewife

    March 12, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    So I’ve learned a little bit more about the OT in the last couple of weeks, and I didn’t realize that this was/is what Jewish people were/are supposed to stay away from. However, being Christian, all foods were declared good again because the message from Jesus is not about outer works but about a conversion of heart. I actually feel bad about what I wrote before because I thought that it was a joke, but now that I know our older brothers and sisters (Jewish brethren) have this as a regulation, I would like to apologize. I am extremely grateful for their traditions.
    I also wanted to let you know that I am working on an article with de Beauvoir, a friend of Sarte. I thought you might be interested. It will be a couple more weeks, though, the way March is going. You are in my thoughts, and prayers, sister. I hope that you are doing okay. God bless…

     
  2. lamehousewife

    February 26, 2012 at 1:10 am

    I have never heard of that fear of shellfish before. LOL. Thank you for the post…

     

Leave a Reply

 
