RSS

First Introductions

19 Dec

In the wake of Christopher Hitchens untimely demise I have decided that I need to do more for the atheist cause, so here it is, my own blog that will be full of my musings, beliefs and general chit chat through the eyes of an atheist in the British culture/society.  Not only is this my sole inspiration, but albeit my main one, others that have inspired myself, The Thinking Atheist aka Seth and The Atheist Experience spring to mind.  I find though that these are American and therefore perhaps not as accessible from this side of “the pond.”  I do recommend them all the same and you will find a link to their websites at the end of this post.

In the meantime, what invariably always happens, an introduction of myself, why/how I became atheist.

I come from a Roman Catholic background.  I was born and live in England but my family are actually Italian.  So whenever I visit my family in Italy you will always see signs of Catholicism every corner you turn.  In England I find that religion is not as important in comparison, which can only be a good thing, but it is still lurking behind in the shadows which is just as dangerous perhaps.

I attended a Roman Catholic school (the worst years of my life).  They teach scripture such as The Golden Rule, love one another as you would like to be loved yourself.  Yes, thats great, not so great when no one actually takes this on board and bullies the inch of your life out of you!  So this was the starting point of me turning to reason and truth, why would anyone be so mean to someone else when the Bible is teaching scripture such as this?  Of course, the teachers were cherry picking the nicer things out of the bible, no where in class did they teach of the rape, slavery, mass genocide that the Bible advocates.  That is not good PR for Catholicism!

So in sixth form at the same school I studied Philosophy for my A Levels.  The teacher was called Mr Adams and he was the most influential person at that moment in time.  He introduced me to the writings of Jean Paul Sartre and my love with Existentialism started there.  When the words were uttered, “God is dead, everything is permitted,” into these humble ears of mine, there was another alternate universe that was introduced, that I was allowed to think of that I would have never considered.  In this life, on this planet, do we actually need a God?  It is actually ok to think that there is no God.

And it snowballed from there, now what do I think of religion?  I used to think that it was all true and it was to be followed to get into heaven.  Now I think it is man made and it is not from some divine authority as it claims to be.  If it was, then there would not be any mistakes or contradictions within itself.  It would be absolute and would be explained with reason, science and truth.  How can something as imperfect as man describe and write the teachings and life of something that is perfect?  Imperfection can never understand or ascertain perfection.  The bible or any other holy text are thus a contradiction within themselves before you even set your eyes on the first page!

How could religion be as pure as it claims to be when fundamentalist Islamists are killing others that do not believe in their faith, or when the Pope is covering up such a heinous crime as pedophilia within his own church?  All for the greater good?  Am I an idiot or something, or is there a screw loose or something missing in these people’s heads or something!?

Are you an atheist?  What made you become and atheist?  What is your story?  If you would like to share your story with us then please, write in the comments box below.
On the other hand, are you a believer that has just read this?  What do you think after reading this?  I equally invite and encourage your comments below.

Please note:  I want this to be an honest but respectful discussion.  No swearing will be permitted on my blog.  Any that I do find will be promptly deleted.

Finally as promised here are the links below:

The Thinking Atheist: http://www.thethinkingatheist.com/
The Atheist Experience: http://www.youtube.com/user/TheAtheistExperience

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 19, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “First Introductions

  1. Carol Potter

    January 5, 2012 at 11:12 pm

    I will be supporting you and reading your blog, I am a British Female Atheist myself, living in Australia. I just find it so hard to live in a world that believes in such utter rubbish. Going blindly forth with no thought or logic, but woe betide anyone who questions their beliefs! Now some stupid religious people who believe the world is going to end this year has taken over my lovely 13 year old granddaughters mind and she is fighting me about Religion and has started wearing a cross around her neck, not only that, but her High School is also reinforcing theism with religious instruction classes. I am losing the battle. Her Dad is a scientist and believes that God planted dinosaur bones in the earth to test our faith!!!!!
    Recently a particular church in town has started a service with a truck going around to Schools and shopping centres with a display and information about Noah’s ark! Talk about the Dark Ages.
    I am looking forward to reading your next excerpt. Keep up the fight.
    From a like minded atheist.
    Carol

     
    • britishfemaleatheist1

      January 6, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      Thank you ever so much Carol for your encouragement! If you do not know there is an online community on a website called “The Thinking Atheist.” I was only on it the other day and I believe the post below from the forum (link) may help you with your grand daughter. I know that religion already has its claws in your grand daughter but this theory may still work. If you are able to get your grand daughter to question the creation of the world, then everything else will fall like dominoes. I hope it helps 🙂

      http://thethinkingatheist.com/forum/Thread-Creationism-in-School

      Thank you.
      Stefania

       
  2. Fred Harvey

    January 3, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    Introduction read and, for what it’s worth, very much approved. Every word written in support of logic and reason is another step in waking a world from the dark nightmare of theism.
    If nothing else these blogs are a great way to collect your thoughts so that when you do take the word of reason to others at least you know what you’re trying to say and have your opinions written down somewhere to keep yourself honest.
    Good work, carry on, no success without attempt.

     
    • britishfemaleatheist1

      January 5, 2012 at 4:25 pm

      Thank you ever so much for your kind words and encouragement. Very much appreciated! Stick around, its only going to get better from here 🙂

      Stefania

       

Leave a Reply

 
